Tranquility

25 Aug

“He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”               –Psalms 46:10

Photo via: Serenity Knits

Hey Webbies,

This is just a little excerpt from my all-time favorite book called Chasing Fireflies. I have always been a little obsessed with these insects. Fireflies to me seem like the closest I can get to a dream while still in reality. Have you ever seen a wide-open field full of fireflies? The majestic sight of glitter dancing across the field will make anyone gaze in awe.

When I was little, I could not wait for the time to come when my mother would hand my sister and myself a mason jar. For that short time, we giggled as we ran. It was as if we couldn’t hold in our excitement as we unscrewed the lids hoping none of the glistening bugs escaped.

Why am I so obsessed with them, what makes fireflies so enchanting; is it because they light up the dark? Is it the gift of light or is it the gift of grace. Have you ever seen a firefly glide? I read somewhere, after they flash their little light they hover. Pause. Take in their environment. They wait to find the response of their mate.

Am I so captivated by this creation of God because I need to learn something from them? I need to be still so that I may hear God’s voice. If the firefly doesn’t pause, it will never see its companion.  So if I ask God questions or for his help and I feel even more lost because I can’t “hear” him; like the firefly, maybe all I need to do is freeze because when time stops, it becomes quite.

So maybe if things are not going how you would like them or you did not hear God’s response. Take a minute, and don’t be too eager to press the play button to your life. If you think, you’re having a one-sided conversation with God; perhaps it is because God is having a one-sided conversation with you.

Therefore, to grow my character to become more like a proverbs woman, I need to breathe. Stop and assess everything around me. To all of you out there, take the time to giggle like a child again. Be adventurous. Be slow to speak and quick to listen. Take the opportunity to enjoy the moments when the world freezes or slows down around you.

“Scientists say that these [Fireflies] evolved this way over millions of years.” He shook his head. “That’s a bunch of bunk. I don’t think an animal can just all-of-a-sudden decide it wants to make light grow out its butt. What kind of nonsense is that? Animals don’t make light.” He pointed to the stars. “God does that. I don’t know why or how, but I’m pretty sure it’s not chance. It’s not some haphazard thing he does in his spare time.”

He looked at me, and his expression changed from one of wonder to seriousness, to absolute conviction. “Chase, I don’t believe in chance.” He held up the jar. “This is not chance, neither are the stars.”…..”And neither are you. So, if your mind is telling you that God slipped up and might have made one giant mistake when it comes to you, you remember the firefly’s butt.”
Charles Martin, Chasing Fireflies

Until next time,

Kalah

What are your thoughts?

