Food 101: Chicken Cordon Bleu

2 Oct

Hey Webbies,

I have a treat for you.

I have currently been M.I.A. in the blogging scene for over two weeks. For those of you who are new readers or those who have missed my post about it, my mother had her leg amputated, by choice, and has since been in the hospital. This means I have been in charge of taking care of my niece.

Today, I decided that when she came home and finished her after school routine, I would recruit her to help make dinner. If I could see into the future, I would have seen it taking twice as long with her “helping” nonetheless this is our beginning, middle and finishing of our semi-homemade meal. Therefore, if you have not seen the title, tonight’s dinner feature was Chicken Cordon Bleu with Chicken flavored Vermicelli rice and mixed veggies.

First, we started gathering all of the ingredients and equipment we would need.

Ingredients:

  • 3 chicken breasts (skinless and boneless)
  • Shredded/slices Cheese (your choice)
  • Ham (We used  lunch meat)
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs (We used Italian)
  • 2 tbs. Garlic (We used minced from the jar)
  • 2 Tbs unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • Extra-virgin olive oil
  • We also made boxed rice and frozen veggies

Equipment:

  • Large stove/oven safe pan (We used a Cast-iron Skillet)
  • Medium pot with lid (for Rice)
  • Wax paper
  • Meat mallet
  • Apron
  • Knife, bowls, cutting board, utensils, etc.

Directly after snapping the picture above the meat mallet fell and…. well see for yourself…

After promptly cleaning the egg-y mess up and disinfecting everything, I started to clean the chicken. Some might feel this step unnecessary however, my O.C.D tendencies compel me to do this step with complete accuracy or I will not be able to eat the chicken.

In addition, cooking this meal made me realize that raw chicken and ham are the least photogenic foods that I have eaten, so without further due:

Finally! The Chicken is clean.

**IMPORTANT NOTICE: Please avoid cross contamination when handling the Chicken and Eggs**

When the chicken is to your liking, make a sandwich out of each chicken piece using the wax paper. I will look something like this.

Now here comes the fun part especially if you have little helping hands. Take the meat mallet and even the chicken out to about 1/4” in thickness. You might need to take over after their smashing fun to make the correct thickness.

 

Once my niece made sure the chicken was dead, as she put it, I placed the chicken back on the cutting board to our “assembly station.”  First, we put down the ham (one or two pieces) and a bit of cheese.

 

After placing the ham and cheese on the chicken comes the tricky part, rolling it up without everything falling out. Then we mixed the salt, pepper, and flour together and dipped the rolled up chicken in it (make sure it is all over.) Then from there dip it in the eggs followed by the next bowl, which is the breadcrumbs. This is somewhat of what it should look like:

 

Next, I sprayed Pam on the skillet and positioned it on the burner heating it on medium. Carefully, place the chicken in the skillet so it does not fall apart. Now is the time I put the butter and oil into the skillet along with the garlic and swish is around with a spoon to go around/in-between the chicken (I sprayed the top of the chicken with Pam so the crumbs would get crispy.)

 

After the oil is hot, place it in the oven at 375° for 25 minutes.

The garlic with blacken and caramelize, do not get alarmed this is normal.

After 25 minutes is up this is my result.

Our dinner was completed and served to a ravenously hungry helper. After the stuffed helper cleared her plate like a vacuum, I asked how she would suggest on making it better.

I honestly thought she would have hated this recipe for the simple fact it was something she never ate before. She answered, “More cheese and more breading!”

After failing to get any more critique out of her, I asked her to describe it in one word and my little picky eater said exuberantly, “Delicious!”

 

I thought my Chicken Cordon Bleu turned out amazing. The chicken was surprisingly moist on the inside while obtaining a crunchy crisp to the outside breaded layer. We ate our chicken with vermicelli rice and veggies. Food 101 = Success.

I really hope you enjoy this recipe and look forward to posting many more in the future.

If you try it out send me a picture of how yours turned out.

Did you switch up the recipe? Did something go wrong like my egg becoming Humpty-Dumpty?

Until next time,

Kalah

One Response to “Food 101: Chicken Cordon Bleu”

  1. Lauren October 17, 2012 at 10:49 AM #

    Thanks for the recipe! Now I’m hungry 🙂

What are your thoughts?

